Margaret Haigh

Hailed for her “clear, bright tone” (Cleveland Classical) and described as “fiery, wild, and dangerous” (Classical Voice North Carolina), soprano Margaret Carpenter Haigh is a soloist and chamber musician based in Charlotte, North Carolina. Recent and upcoming solo engagements include Handel’s Messiahwith the Memphis and Winston-Salem Symphony Orchestras; BWV 51 Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen and Vaughan Willliams’ Benedicite with Arizona Musicfest Orchestra; Rutter’s Requiem with Evansville Philharmonic Orchestra; BWV 105 Herr, hehe nicht ins Gericht with the Oregon Bach Festival Orchestra; Bach’s B minor Mass with Bach Akademie Charlotte and American Bach Soloists Academy, and Del Tredici’s An Alice Symphonywith the Portland Symphony. Alongside organist and harpsichordist Nicolas Haigh, Margaret is co-founder of L’Académie du Roi Soleil, an ensemble specializing in French music from the time of Louis XIV and with which she has performed in venues including York Minster; New College Chapel, Oxford; and Clare College Chapel, Cambridge.

Margaret holds degrees from Case Western Reserve University; the University of Cambridge, where she was a Gates Cambridge Scholar; and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Recent scholarship includes work on gesture in the madrigal repertoire of the concerto delle donne in late sixteenth-century Ferrara. For more information, visit

Thank you to the following for their financial support

Elizabeth F. Cheny Foundation
Gaylord and Dorothy Donnelley Foundation
Global Voices
Illinois Arts Council Agency
Logan Center for the Arts
Paul M Angel Family Foundation
Supported by The MacArthur Funds for Arts & Culture at The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation
The Saints
The University of Chicago Department of Music
UChicago Arts

Contact Us


P.O. Box 60212
Chicago, IL 60660-0212

The Newberry Consort

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This